The Nobel Prize in Physics 2016

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided on 4 October 2016 to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 with one half to

David J. Thouless
University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA

and the other half to

F. Duncan M. Haldane
Princeton University, NJ, USA


J. Michael Kosterlitz
Brown University, Providence, RI, USA

for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter. More details are available at the web site of the Nobel Prize.

SCL is especially proud that our former member Zlatko Papic , who has done his PhD in physics at the University of Belgrade and Universite Paris Sud (jointly awarded) under supervision of Milica Milovanovic while working with us, has co-authored several papers with one of the Nobel Prize winners, F. Duncan M. Haldane. After postdoc positions at Princeton University and Perimeter Institute, Zlatko is currently a lecturer at School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Leeds, UK.